Drs. Kendall Van Keuren-Jensen and Louise Laurent

Founding members

Robert Raffai, George Daaboul, Mikhail Skliar, Shivani Sharma, Saumya Das, Joel Rozowsky, Norman Haughey, Stephen Gould, John Lewis, Hakho Lee, Julie Saugstad, Jane Freedman, Tijana Talisman, Lara Mahal, etc.


The ASEMV Technology Working Group addresses critical issues related to the isolation and analysis of exosomes, exRNAs, other exRNA carriers (microvesicles, lipoprotein particles, exomeres, etc.) and other carrier cargo molecules (proteins, lipids, and carbohydrates). Specific goals of this working group are to discuss, consider, and report on:

  • new technologies, devices, protocols & reagents
  • known & emerging limitations of existing technologies
  • best practices and common obstacles with common protocols, reagents, & devices

In addition, this working group will serve as an organizing platform for new collaborations and collaborative teams, generate a review roster for access by funding agencies and journals, and hold a satellite meeting on October 20, 2018.


A. Isolation and/or purification of exRNA carriers (exosomes, microvesicles, lipoprotein paticles, exomeres, RNPs, etc.)

  • Centrifugation
  • Filtration (single pass, TFF, etc.)
  • Column fractionation (SEC, IEC, etc.)
  • Affinity purification
  • Precipitation
  • Microfluidics
  • Others (electrophoresis, acoustics, field flow fractionation, etc.)

B. Characterization of intact exRNA carriers

  • Nanotracking particle analysis (NTA)
  • Resistive pulse sensing (RPS)
  • Flow vesicleometry
  • Light microscopy
  • Electron microscopy
  • Atomic force microscopy
  • Others

C. Molecular dissection of exRNA carriers

  • exRNA extraction & analysis (RNAseq, qRT-PCR, etc.)
  • protein extraction & analysis (Immunoblot, LC-MS/MS, etc.)
  • lipid extraction & analysis (TLC, MS, etc.)
  • CHO extraction & analysis (Lectin Array, Immunoblot, MS, etc.)